ISHLT Election Results: Approved ISHLT Board of Directors & Leaders

Published 24 October 2023
  • Board of Directors
  • Committees & Communities
  • News
  • Professional Communities

Group of men and women from around the globe pose for a photo

The ISHLT Governance Nominating Committee is now able to announce the results of the 2024 ISHLT Elections for the Board of Directors and Professional Community Leadership Positions. Thanks to all who participated in the election by voting, submitting a nomination, or volunteering for candidacy.The member-approved composition of the 2024-2025 ISHLT Board will be:

President: Christian Benden, MD, MBA, FCCP, Pediatric Pulmonologist, Switzerland (2026) 
Past President: Jason D. Christie, MD, MS, Pulmonologist, USA (2025)
President-Elect: Josef Stehlik, MD, Cardiologist, USA (2027)
Treasurer: Mardi Gomberg-Maitland, MD, MSc, Cardiologist, USA (2026)
Secretary: Peter M. Hopkins, FRACP, Pulmonologist, Australia (2025)
Director: Saima Aslam, MD, MS, Infectious Diseases, USA (2027)
Director: David Baran, MD, Cardiologist, USA (2027)
Director: Caron L. Burch, RN, MSN, FNP, CCTC, Transplant Coordinator, USA (2025) 
Director: Marta Farrero Torres, MD, PhD, Cardiologist, Spain (2027)
Director: Haifa Lyster, PhD, FRPharmS, FFRPS, Pharmacy, United Kingdom (2027)
Director: Jignesh K. Patel, MD, PhD, Cardiologist, USA (2025)
Director: Yael Peled, MD, Cardiologist, Israel (2026)
Director: Diyar Saeed, MD, PhD, Cardiac Surgeon, Germany (2025)
Director: Martin Schweiger, MBA, FABS, FEBS, Cardiac Surgery, Switzerland (2026)
Director: Laurie D. Snyder, MD, Pulmonologist, USA (2026)
Director: Simon Urschel, MD, Immunologist, Pediatric Heart Transplant, Canada (2026)


Members in 8 out of the 10 Professional Communities also voted for leadership to represent them in various positions across the Society. Congratulations to all nominees and to the winners, whose terms begin in May 2024.

For a full list of all Professional Community Election Winners, click here.