LINKS Newsletter Travel Awards

 This award is not currently being offered by ISHLT.



With the support of W.O. and Joan Leach (Gadsden, Alabama, USA), Mrs. Sue Abramson (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) and Mr. Larry Imhoff (La Place, Louisiana, USA), the ISHLT has been able to offer the ISHLT Leach-Abramson-Imhoff Links Travel Awards to support the growth and development of our future leaders from within our society.

From physicians to nurses to other health care professionals, anyone motivated enough by investigation, communication, and dissemination of new ideas for the betterment of patients with failing lungs and/or a failing heart should be rewarded for their efforts.

Whether writing about conditions such as pulmonary fibrosis, cystic fibrosis, emphysema, pulmonary hypertension, and from ischemic, nonischemic to congenital heart diseases, those who work tirelessly to educate themselves, their patients and their field should not go unnoticed or unmentioned.

Eligibility Requirements:

  1. Any healthcare professional including but not limited to nurses, nurse coordinators, social workers, pharmacists, therapists, dietitians and early career physicians are eligible and must be a member of the ISHLT regardless of duration in their career.
  2. An imposed restriction on physicians is that they must be in their Early Career--within 7 years of training, Assistant Professor equivalent, or junior faculty level with rare exceptions.
  3. Individuals must display some form of research interest, basic, clinical, translational or outcomes investigations or at a minimum display some skill in journalism best exemplified by their contributions to the Links Newsletter engendering fresh and creative ideas.

By submitting one or more article(s) for publication in any of the ISHLT Links Newsletter issues AND meeting the above eligibility requirements, any author can be considered for one of these awards.

Each year, winners are selected from a pool of nominees by the ISHLT Links Travel Award Committee (LTAC) which includes: the Links Editor-in-Chief, ISHLT Executive Director, ISHLT President, ISHLT Program Chair, and the Links Managing Editor.