Boards & Committees - Annual Meeting



ANNUAL MEETING PROGRAM COMMITTEE


2017 ANNUAL MEETING WEBSITE:
www.ishlt.org/meetings/futureMeetings.asp



COMMITTEE REPORTS:

January 2017 Program Chair Report to Board of Directors



EXECUTIVE PROGRAM COMMITTEE
The Executive Program Committee shall consist of the President, Program Chair, Immediate Past Program Chair and Incoming Program Chair whose responsibility will be to serve as the executive decision-making body of the Program Committee and to liaise with staff between meetings of the Program Committee.


A) SYMPOSIUM PLANNING COMMITTEE

Committee Composition:

  • The Annual Meeting Symposium Planning Committee shall consist of a Vice-Chair appointed by the President-Elect, subject to approval by the Board, and a Chair who shall rotate into the position after serving as Vice-Chair.  Chair and Vice-Chair terms are one year each.
  • The Immediate Past Scientific Program Committee Chair, the Editor of the Journal, the Chair of the Education Committee, and the President, shall also serve as members of the Program Committee.
  • The Chairs of the Scientific Councils shall nominate up to four individuals to be considered for appointment as members of the Annual Meeting Symposium Planning Committee. Ideally, one nominee from each Council shall be selected by the Chair to serve on the Committee.
  • The Chair shall appoint sufficient additional committee members to reflect the agreed-upon scientific and therapeutic disciplines, with no less than two and no more than four members assigned to each scientific or therapeutic discipline.  Such terms are for one year.
  • Committee members must have served as an abstract reviewer in the past.
  • Council Officers, members of Council Education Workforces, and members of the Education Committee may not serve on the Symposium Planning Committee except for the Chair of the Education Committee.
  • Other than the Past Program Chair, the Program Chair, the Immediate Past Program Chair, the Chair of the Education Committee, and the Editor of the Journal, no member of the Committee may serve more than two years consecutively.  A break of one year minimum is required.
  • The committee members must be approved by the Board in advance.
  • Every effort should be made to include both new and experienced members on the committee and to ensure gender and geographic diversity.
  • If not already an elected Board member, the Chair of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program Committee shall serve as an ex-officio member of the Board and shall also serve as a member of the Education Committee.
Committee Responsibilities:

  • Develop learning objectives for the Annual Meeting that are tied to the identified practice gaps and educational needs of the members.
  • Ensure that the Annual Meeting Symposia and other invited content addresses the identified practice gaps and educational needs of the members and the established learning objectives.
  • Develop the Annual Meeting  Symposia and other invited content.
  • Evaluate and make changes, as needed, to the format, structure, and content development process of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program.
B) ABSTRACT SELECTION COMMITTEE

Committee Composition:

  • The Annual Meeting Abstract Selection Committee shall consist of the members of the Symposium Planning Committee, plus such additional members appointed by the Chair as are necessary to ensure that there are at least two members assigned to each of the main abstract categories. Such terms are for one year.
  • Council Officers, members of Council Education Taskforces, and members of the Education Committee may not serve on the Abstract Selection Committee., except for the Chair of the Education Committee.
  • Committee members must have served as an abstract reviewer in the past.
  • Other than the Immediate Past Program Chair, the Program Chair, the Program Chair-Elect, the Chair of the Education Committee, and the Editor of the Journal no member of the Committee may serve more than two years consecutively.  A break of one year minimum is required.
  • Every effort should be made to include both new and experienced members on the committee and to ensure gender and geographic diversity.
Committee Responsibilities:

  • Review and select submitted abstracts for presentation at the Annual Meeting.
  • Develop the abstract sessions for presentation at the Annual Meeting.
  • Select finalists and/or recipients for the various ISHLT abstract awards.
  • Ensure that the abstract content of the Annual Meeting addresses the identified practice gaps and educational needs of the members and the established learning objectives.
  • Evaluate and make changes, as needed, to the format, structure, and content development process of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program.

2017 PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
(A) Symposium Planning Committee
      SPC Roster (PDF)
(B) Abstract Selection Committee


EXECUTIVE PROGRAM COMMITTEE:

2017 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Jeffrey J. Teuteberg, MD (A & B)
University of Pittsburgh/Presbyterian
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
teutebergjj@upmc.edu
ISHLT PRESIDENT
Maryl R. Johnson, MD (A & B)
HEART TRANSPLANTATION

University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI, USA
mrj@medicine.wisc.edu
2018 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Christian Benden, MD FCCP (A & B)
PEDIATRICS

University Hospital Zurich
Zurich, SWITZERLAND
christian_benden@yahoo.de
2016 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Andrew J. Fisher, FRCP, PhD (A & B)
LUNG TRANSPLANTATION

Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
a.j.fisher@ncl.ac.uk
ISHLT STAFF LIAISON
Susie Newton (A & B)
ISHLT Headquarters
Addison, TX, USA
972-490-9495
susie.newton@ishlt.org
COMMITTEE MEMBERS (in alphabetical order):

Saima Aslam, MD, MS (A & B)
INFECTIOUS DISEASES

UCSF
San Diego, CA, USA
saslam@ucsd.edu
Fiorella Calabrese, MD (A & B)
PATHOLOGY

University of Padova
Padova, ITALY
fiorella.calabrese@unipd.it
Chesney Castleberry, MD (B)
JUNIOR FACULTY CLINICAL CASE REPORTS

Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO, USA
castleberry_c@kids.wustl.edu
Sabina M. De Geest, RN, PhD (A & B)
NURSING / ALLIED HEALTH (LIAISON)

University of Basel
Basel, SWITZERLAND
sabina.degeest@unibas.ch
Shashank S. Desai, MD (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT (LIAISON)

Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, VA, USA
shashank.desai@inova.org
Fabienne Dobbels, MSc, PhD (B)
ECONOMICS, ETHICS, PUBLIC POLICY

KU Leuven
Leuven, BELGIUM
fabienne.dobbels@med.kuleuven.be
Howard J. Eisen, MD (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE AND TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH

Drexel University College of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA, USA
heisen@drexelmed.edu
Maryjane Farr, MD (A & B)
HEART TRANSPLANTATION (LIAISON)

Columbia University
New York, NY, USA
maf2171@columbia.edu
Savitri Fedson, MD (B)
HEART FAILURE

Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX, USA
fedson@bcm.edu
Rochelle Gellatly, PharmD (B)
PHARMACY / PHARMACOLOGY

Alfred Hospital
Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
rmgellatly@gmail.com
Patricia Ging, PharmD (A & B)
PHARMACY / PHARMACOLOGY (LIAISON)

Mater Misericordiae University Hospital
Dublin, IRELAND
pging@mater.ie
Kristine Guleserian, MD (B)
PEDIATRICS

Nicklaus Children's Hospital
Miami, FL, USA
kristine.guleserian@mch.com
Christopher Hayward, MD (B)
HEART FAILURE

St. Vincent's Hospital
Sydney, AUSTRALIA
cshayward@stvincents.com.au
Are Martin Holm, MD, PhD (A & B)
LUNG TRANSPLANTATION

Oslo University Hospital
Oslo, NORWAY
a.m.holm@medisin.uio.no
Shahid Husain, MD, MS (B)
INFECTIOUS DISEASES

University Health Network
Toronto, ON, CANADA
shahid.husain@uhn.ca
Jonathan N. Johnson, MD (A & B)
PEDIATRICS (LIAISON)

Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesota, USA
johnson.jonathan@mayo.edu
Kiran Khush, MD (B)
HEART TRANSPLANTATION

Stanford University
Stanford, CA, USA
kiran@stanford.edu
Ivan Knezevic, MD (B)
HEART FAILURE

University Clinical Center
Ljubljana, SLOVENIA
ivan.knezevic@kclj.si
Theodoros Kofidis, MD, PhD, FRCS (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

National University of Singapore
Singapore, SINGAPORE
65-6772-2065
surtk@nus.edu.sg
Brent Lampert, DO (B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

The Ohio State University Medical Center
Columbus, OH, USA
brent.lampert@gmail.com
Erika D Lease, MD (A & B)
LUNG TRANSPLANTATION

University of Washington
Seattle, WA, USA
206-598-1409
edlease@u.washington.edu
Claudius Mahr, DO (B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

University of Washington
Seattle, WA, USA
cmahr@uw.edu
Tereza Martinu, MD (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE AND TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH (LIAISON)

Toronto General Hospital/UHN
Toronto, ON, USA
416-340-3277
tereza.martinu@uhn.ca
Mandeep R. Mehra, MD, MBBS, FACC, FACP (Journal Editor) (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Brigham & Women's Hospital
Boston, MA, USA
617-732-8535
mmehra@partners.org
Hirsch Mehta, MD (B)
JUNIOR FACULTY CLINICAL CASE REPORTS (LIAISON)

San Diego Cardiac Center
San Diego, CA, USA
714-273-2483
hirschmehta@gmail.com
Joshua Mooney, MD (B)
LUNG TRANPLANTATION

Stanford University
Stanford, CA, USA
562-382-3184
jjmooney@stanford.edu
Sanem Nalbantgil, MD (A & B)
HEART TRANSPLANTATION

Ege Universite Tip Hospital
Izmir, TURKEY
02123342646
sanem@hotmail.com
Desley Neil, FRCPath (A & B)
PATHOLOGY (LIAISON)

Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Birmingham, UK
44-121-3713349
desley.neil@uhb.nhs.uk
Ivan Netuka, MD, PhD (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine
Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
073-782-0800
ivan.netuka@ikem.cz
Frank Pagani, MD, PhD (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

University of Michigan Health
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
734-647-2894
fpagani@umich.edu
Caroline Patterson, MD (B)
JUNIOR FACULTY CLINICAL CASE REPORTS

Papworth Hospital
Surrey, UK
447-720-889338
cmpatterson@doctors.net.uk
Simon Pecha, MD (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE AND TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH

University Heart Center Hamburg
Hamburg, GERMANY
49-175-168-7526
s.pecha@uke.de
Axel Rahmel, MD (B)
ECONOMICS, ETHICS, PUBLIC POLICY

German Procurement Organisation DSO
Frankfurt, GERMANY
49-69-6773289001
axel.rahmel@dso.de
Joanna Schaenman, MD, PhD (A & B)
INFECTIOUS DISEASES (LIAISON)

UCLA
Los Angeles, CA, USA
310-825-3632
jschaenman@mednet.ucla.edu
Palak Shah, MD, MS (B)
JUNIOR FACULTY CLINICAL CASE REPORTS

Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, VA, USA
703-776-7231
palak.shah@inova.org
Oksana Shlobin, MD (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, VA, USA
703-776-2256
oksana.shlobin@inova.org
Michael Shullo, PharmD (A & B)
PHARMACY AND PHARMACOLOGY

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
412-864-3824
shulloma@upmc.edu
Ryan Tedford, MD (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION (LIAISON)

Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD, USA
443-367-5601
ryan.tedford@jhmi.edu
Adriana Torres, MD (B)
HEART TRANSPLANTATION

Fundacion Cardioinfantil
Bogota, COLOMBIA
310-480-9407
torrnav@hotmail.com
Marian Urban, MD (A & B)
HEART TRANSPLANTATION

Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
004407479986421
murban@doctors.net.uk
C. Dario Vizza, MD (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

University of Rome
Rome, ITALY
39-0649979051
dario.vizza@gmail.com
Robin Vos, MD, PhD (A & B)
LUNG TRANSPLANTATION (LIAISON)

University Hospital Gasthuisberg
Leuven, BELGIUM
32-16-34-15-48
robin.vos@uz.kuleuven.be
Connie White-Williams, RN, PhD (B)
NURSING / ALLIED HEALTH

University of Alabama
Birmingham, AL, USA
205-975-8611
cwwilli@uabmc.edu
Chris Wigfield, MD, FRCS (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE AND TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH

Advocate Christ Medical Center
Chicago, IL, USA
708-684-9646
christopher.wigfield@advocatehealth.com
Quincy Young, PhD, RPsych (A & B)
NURSING / ALLIED HEALTH

St. Paul's Hospital
Vancouver, BC, CANADA
778-968-3477
qyoung@providencehealth.bc.ca
Roger Yusen, MD, MPH (B)
LUNG TRANSPLANTATION

Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO, USA
314-454-8764
yusenr@wustl.edu
Daniel Zimpfer, MD (B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

Medical University of Vienna
Vienna, AUSTRIA
43-1-4-0-400-5620
daniel.zimpfer@meduniwien.ac.at
Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size