Awards - Outstanding Achievement Awards - Pioneers in Transplantation

ISHLT Pioneer Award

The ISHLT Pioneer Award was bestowed to individuals in recognition of their pioneering work improving the care of patients with advanced heart or lung disease. This award has now been replaced by the ISHLT Award of Distinction.

Sir Roy Calne
Sir Roy Calne receives the ISHLT Pioneer Award on April 28, 2016. From L to R: ISHLT 2016 Scientific Program Chair Andrew Fisher, MD, FRCP, Sir Roy Calne, ISHLT President Duane Davis, MD, MBA

2016 RECIPIENT - Sir Roy Calne

Sir Roy CalneSir Roy Calne is a true pioneer in the field of transplantation. As a young surgeon he was frustrated by repeated assertion that organ transplantation would not be viable. He was inspired by Peter Medawer to develop chemical approaches to control the immune response and played a key role in the development of Azathioprine as an immunosuppressive therapy. He was appointed Professor of Surgery at University of Cambridge in 1965 and performed the First Liver Transplant Operation in Europe in 1968. For his scientific excellence in the field he was elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society in 1974 and subsequently received a knighthood in 1986. His experimental work was critical to the translation of cyclosporin A into clinical practice which was a turning point in the modern era of organ transplantation. He remains research active and is acclaimed as a talented artist, sculptor and author. Its a great honour for the ISHLT to recognise Sir Roy as a pioneer that has allowed heart and lung transplantation to evolve from experimental concept to therapeutic reality.


Bruno Reichart, MD

Jack G. Copeland, MD

Elizabeth Hammond, MD

Christian Cabrol, MD

Richard E. Lower, MD

Leonard L. Bailey, MD

Michael De Bakey, MD
Bruce Reitz, MD

Christiaan Barnard, MD
Joel D. Cooper, MD
Norman E. Shumway, MD

Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size