Awards - Abstract Awards - Phillip K. Caves Award

Philip K. Caves Award


The Philip K. Caves Award is named after the clinician who developed and pioneered the technique of transvenous endomyocardial biopsy to assess for rejection after cardiac transplantation. Established in 1982 to encourage and reward original high quality research performed by trainees, residents, fellows, and graduate students, this $1,000 award is bestowed annually on the trainee/resident/fellow/student whose oral presentation is judged to be the best at the Caves Award Session at the Annual Scientific Meeting. Students / Residents / Fellows / Scientists in training who are first authors and presenters may elect to have their abstracts considered for shortlisting for the Caves Award at the time of abstract submission. Candidates for the award must be current members of the Society or be working under a current member of the Society. Anyone who has previously won the award is not eligible to apply. The online submission process includes an area to indicate that you wish to have your abstract considered for this award..


corey tabit

Corey E. Tabit, MD
The University of Chicago Medical Center, Chicago, IL, USA
Abstract: "Increased Angiogenesis and Non-Surgical Bleeding in Patients with Continuous-Flow Left Ventricular Assist Devices Are Mediated by Thrombin-Induced Angiopoietin-2"


2015  Simon Pecha, MD
2014  Jessica Spahn
2013  Alexey Dashkevich, MD
2012  Simo Syrjälä, MD
2011  Ankit Bharat, MD
2010  Tobias Deuse, MD, PhD
2009  Howard Huang, MD
2008  Satish N. Nadig, MD
2007  Heather E. Merry, MD
2006  Gregor Warnecke, MD
2005  Sigrid Sandner, MD
2005  Frank D'Ovidio, MD
2004  M. D. Peterson, MD
2003  Sigrid Sandner, MD
2002  Peter Blaha, MD
2001  Alexander S. Krupnick, MD
2000  Michael P. Fischbein, MD
1999  Joerg Koglin, MD
1998  Carla C. Baan, PhD
1997  Simon D. Eiref, MD
1996  Moninder S. Bhabra, MD
1995  Elizabeth A. Davis, MD
1994  Jobst Winter, MD
1994  Alain Chapelier, MD
1993  David Marshman, MD
1992  David P. Kapelanski, MD
1991  A. Jiminez, MD
1990  Andres J. Duncan, MD
1989  A.M. Wood, MD
1988  Charles D. Fraser, Jr., MD
1987  Wim Van Der Bij, MD
1986  Stuart J. Knechtle, MD
1985  Michael A. Breda, MD
1984  Hermann Reichenspurner, MD
1983  Robbin G. Cohen, MD
Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size