← Back to March 2018

2018 Recipients of the ISHLT Leach-Abramson-Imhoff Links Travel Awards

Over the past year, the ISHLT again had a productive year from over 100 writers contributing to the ISHLT Links Newsletter. To deter us from analysis paralysis, we must decide, sometimes with "Big Decisions" but not always the right decision. From power dynamics and groupthink to group polarization, our decisions are subjected to biases resulting in decisions that could be hazardous to someone's life. A grid and a checklist will foster collaborative decision making to reduce hazards as we have decided on this year's Links' Writers of the Year. Congratulations from such big decisions and with what were you doing in 1996 to Pediatric Cardiac Prehab. Of course, the forever important and necessary discussions of difficult news with our pediatric transplant recipients shed light on our sensibilities about caring and compassion. In the end, simply showing up proves that it is all worthwhile. Here, our Writer of the Year Award goes to none other than Erin Wells. Our First Runner-Up is Martin Schweiger, and Honorable Mention awards go to Adam Cochrane, Pam Combs, Kyle Dawson and Joshua Mooney.

Let's extend a warm ISHLT congratulations to these writers.

Writer of the Year: $2,000

links image

Erin Wells, RN, BSN, CPN
Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Chicago, Illinois, USA January 2017, Moments in Time
May 2017, Going Back to Cali
June 2017, Back to the Future
September 2017, Leadership in Tough Times

First Runner-Up: $1,000

links image

Martin Schweiger, MD
Children's Hospital Zurich
Zurich, Switzerland

February 2017, Looking Forward to San Diego: 1st Core Competency Course on Pediatric MCS

Honorable Mention (4 recipients): $500

links image

Adam Cochrane, PharmD, BCPS
Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, Virginia, USA

June 2017, 2017 Annual Pharmacy Update: Continuing Progress and Forging Ahead

links image

Pamela S. Combs, PhD, RN
University of Chicago
Chicago, Illinois, USA

April 2017, Pam Combs' Musings on the ISHLT Annual Meeting
November 2017, Perspective of the VAD Caregiver: The Transition Home

links image

Kyle Dawson, PharmD, MBA, BCPS
University of Kentucky
Lexington, Kentucky, USA

May 2017, The Highs and Lows of ISHLT Annual Meeting Symposia

links image

Joshua Mooney, MD
Stanford University
Stanford, California, USA

November 2017, Assocao Brasileira de Transplante Orgaos (ABTO)/ISHLT Joint Symposium

History of the Leach-Abramson-Imhoff Links Travel Awards

The ISHLT Leach-Abramson-Imhoff Links Travel Awards, funded in part by the generous support from W.O. and Joan Leach (Gadsden, Alabama, USA), Mrs. Sue Abramson (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) and Mr. Larry Imhoff (La Place, Louisiana, USA), were created to support the growth and development of our future leaders from within our society including physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals. Those motivated enough with investigation, communication, and dissemination of new ideas for the betterment of patients with failing lungs and/or a failing heart including such conditions as pulmonary fibrosis, cystic fibrosis, emphysema, pulmonary hypertension, and from ischemic, nonischemic to congenital heart diseases should be awarded for their efforts.

Eligibility requirements include:

  1. Any healthcare professional including but not limited to nurses, nurse coordinators, social workers, pharmacists, therapists, dietitians and early career physicians are eligible and must be a member of the ISHLT regardless of duration in their career.
  2. An imposed restriction on physicians is that they must be in their Early Career-within 7 years of training, Assistant Professor equivalent, or junior faculty level with rare exceptions.
  3. Individuals must display some form of research interest, basic, clinical, translational or outcomes investigations or at a minimum display some skill in journalism best exemplified by their contributions to the Links Newsletter engendering fresh and creative ideas.

Each year, the winners are selected from a pool of nominees by the ISHLT Links Travel Award Committee (LTAC). This committee includes the following individuals: the Links Editor-in-Chief, ISHLT Executive Director, ISHLT President, ISHLT Program Chair, and the Links Managing Editor. ■

Share via:

links image    links image    links image    links image