← Back to August 2017

Program Committee Update

links image

Christian Benden, MD, FCCP
2018 Scientific Program Chair

It is the beginning of summer holidays here in Switzerland, and I have just returned to Zurich from Chicago following my first Scientific Program Committee (SPC) Meeting within my new role as the 2018 Scientific Program Chair. Chicago, the Windy City, is always worth a trip. I particularly love all the architectural diversity of the city; however, this time the 2018 SPC Meeting has been the focus of my attention. The 2018 ISHLT SPC consists of 31 members reflecting our Society's diversity regarding disciplines, geography, gender and generations.

Almost 150 symposia proposals were submitted by the ISHLT Membership for consideration by the SPC to develop the best scientific content for the ISHLT Annual Meeting taking place in Nice, Southern France in April 2018.

At the SPC Meeting in Chicago, there was initial time for "ice-breaker" activities in order for SPC Members to get to know each other better, before starting the difficult task of selecting the most exciting symposia proposals and scientific content for the ISHLT Annual Meeting. In Chicago, the SPC put together over two dozen Symposia and three Plenary Sessions for next year's Annual Meeting. The three Plenary Sessions will be scheduled on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday, and Symposia throughout the meeting. As commenced at the 2017 Annual Meeting, we continue to attempt clustering of program content; however, as with previous meetings outside North America, there will be no Sunrise Symposia scheduled in Nice.

Over the last two years, I have learned how detailed the process in preparing for our annual meeting is. And here, I would like to thank everyone who assisted me during this process so far; the always helpful ISHLT Staff, our Society's President, Professor Andrew Fisher from Newcastle (U.K.), and last but not least, the 2017 Program Chair, Jeff Teuteberg, from whom I have learned so much.

In May of this year I had the great pleasure to visit Nice, the host city of our next Annual Meeting, with our President and Amanda Rowe, the ISHLT Executive Director. We inspected the congress venue, The Acropolis Congress Center, located in the center of Nice. In addition, we looked at potential locations for our traditional President's Gala Reception, finally deciding to return to the fabulos Hotel Negresco, a stunning example of the Belle Époque located beautifully at the Promenade des Anglais. Thus, I am very pleased to report that Nice is well prepared and ready to host us!

For now, I would like to draw your attention to the opening of the Abstract Submission site on August 1st 2017. Please submit your research to be considered for presentation at the 2018 Annual Meeting in Nice.

I promise to keeping you updated on the progress of our preparations of the Nice Meeting in the months to come.

Finally, I would like to ask all of you to mark your calenders - if you have not already done so - and put in the dates of our Society's next Annual Meeting scheduled from April 11th to April 14th 2018 in Nice, Southern France. There is no need to tell you that glamouros Nice, the capital of the Côte d'Azur located beautifully at the Bay of Angels, is always worth a visit. Many of you probably still have great memories of our 2015 Nice Meeting. In Autumn 2013, the inauguration of the brand new Promenade du Paillon - 30 acres of park running from the city center to the Mediterranean Sea - added another glorious and playful slice of urban greens to the lovely Nice. Please come to Nice in April next year to experience it for yourself. ■

2018 program committee
Left to Right - Front Row: Susie Newton, Teresa De Marco, Megan Barrett, Saima Aslam, Lara Danziger-Isakov, Amanda Rowe, Rachel Crackett, Mike Shullo, Carmela Tan, Melanie Everitt, Monique Malouf; Second Row: Jorge Silva Enciso, Alexander Bernhardt, Lucy Nye, Christian Benden, Ranny Goldwasser, Howie Eisen, Quincy Young, Sanem Nalbantgil; Back Row: Mandeep Mehra, Matthew Hartwig, Raymond Benza, Mitesh Thakrar; Marc Simon, Chris Wigfield, Stijn Verleden, Alexandra Rice, Orla Morrissey, Are Holm, Rochelle Gellatly, Ulrich Jorde, Andy Fisher, Keith Wille, Marian Urban; Missing: Jeff Teuteberg :(

Disclosure Statement: The author has no conflicts of interest to disclose.

Share via:

links image    links image    links image    links image