email icon Email   printer icon PDF

2013 Slate of Nominees to ISHLT Board of Directors

Dear Colleagues,

As Chair of the Nominating Committee, I am privileged to present to you the final slate of nominees as endorsed unanimously by the ISHLT Board of Directors, for the term April 2013-April 2016.

President-Elect: Hermann Reichenspurner, MD, PhD (Cardiothoracic Surgery), Germany
Secretary-Treasurer: Stuart Sweet, MD, PhD (Pediatric Pulmonology), USA

Lara Danziger-Isakov, MD, MPH (transplant infectious diseases), USA
Andrew J. Fisher, FRCP, PhD (pulmonology), UK
Daniel R. Goldstein, MD (basic scientist and cardiology), USA
Maryl R. Johnson, MD (cardiology), USA
Myung H. Park, MD (pulmonary hypertension), USA

We received 4 nominations for President-elect, 3 for Secretary-Treasurer and 33 for the position of Director. The Nominating Committee consisted of 7 voting members (5 ISHLT presidents and 2 at-large appointees from the Board of Directors). The Nominating Committee has made every effort to discharge its responsibility while keeping in mind the goals of encouraging DIVERSITY, SERVICE TO THE SOCIETY MISSIONS, and LEADERSHIP POTENTIAL.

The slate will be presented to the membership for a final vote at the Annual Business Meeting, Friday April 26, 2013, at 9:30 am at the Palais des Congrès de Montréal, Canada. All members other than student/resident and emeritus/retired/complimentary members may attend and vote at the Annual Business Meeting.

With this slate, the new composition of the Board will be:

President: Allan R. Glanville, MBBS, MD, FRACP (Pulmonologist), Australia
President-Elect: Hermann Reichenspurner, MD, PhD (Cardiothoracic Surgeon), Germany
Past-President: David O. Taylor, MD (Cardiologist), USA
Secretary-Treasurer: Stuart C. Sweet, MD, PhD (Pediatric Pulmonologist), USA
Director: Lara Danziger-Isakov, MD, MPH (Transplant Infectious Diseases Specialist), USA
Director: Andrew Fisher (Pulmonologist), United Kingdom
Director: Daniel R. Goldstein (Basic Scientist and Cardiologist), USA
Director: Maryl Johnson (Cardiologist), USA
Director: Richard Kirk, MA FRCP FRCPCH (Pediatric Cardiologist) United Kingdom
Director: Bronwyn J. Levvey, RN, Grad Dip Clin Ep (Nurse), Australia
Director: Frank Pagani, MD, PhD (Cardiothoracic Surgeon), USA
Director: Myung Park (Cardiologist/Pulmonary Hypertension Specialist), USA
Director: Joseph G. Rogers, MD (Cardiologist), USA
Director: Martin Strueber, MD (Cardiothoracic Surgeon), Germany
Director: George M. Wieselthaler, MD (Cardiothoracic Surgeon) Austria/USA

Thus, the board composition in terms of geographic and constituency basis will be as follows:

Professional Specialty: 4 cardiothoracic surgeons; 2 adult pulmonologists; 1 pediatric pulmonologist; 4 adult cardiologists; 1 pediatric cardiologist; 1 cardiologist/pulmonary hypertension specialist; 1 non-physician; 1 transplant infectious diseases specialist

Geographic Distribution: 9 USA; 6 Non-North American (2 UK, 2 Germany, 2 Australia)

The individuals whose current terms on the Board expire in April, 2013 are as follows:

Raymond L. Benza, MD (Cardiologist/Pulmonary Hypertension), USA
Marisa Crespo-Leiro, MD, Cardiologist, Spain
Duane Davis, MD, Thoracic Surgeon, USA
James George, PhD, Immunobiologist, USA
Patricia Uber, PharmD, Pharmacist, USA
Geert Verleden, MD, PhD, Pulmonologist, Belgium
Lori J. West, MD, DPhil (Pediatric Cardiologist/Basic Scientist), Canada

On behalf of the Board of Directors of ISHLT, we respectfully seek your endorsement of this slate during the Annual Business Meeting.

With warm regards,

Lori J. West, MD, DPhil
Chair, ISHLT Nominating Committee
Immediate Past President ISHLT