links header

Grants & Awards from Prague

2012 Grant Award Winners

Printer Friendly PDF

The following grants awards were presented at the ISHLT 32nd Annual Meeting and Scientific Sessions during the Plenary Session on Saturday, April 21, 2012, at the Prague Congress Center in Prague, Czech Republic.

2012 ISHLT Norman E. Shumway Career Development Grant Award

ISHLT issued one Norman E. Shumway Career Development Grant this year. The award is in the amount of $80,000. The funding period is for two years ($40,000 per year).

tereza martinu Recipient: Tereza Martinu, MD
Duke University, Durham, NC, USA

Project: Importance of IL-17 In Post-Transplant Airway Fibrosis
Chief of Staff: Paul Nobel, MD
Director of Research: Scott Palmer, MD, MHS

2012 ISHLT Research Fellowship Grant Award

ISHLT issued four Research Fellowship Grants this year. Each award is in the amount of $40,000. The funding period is for one year.

stephen juvet Recipient: Stephen C. Juvet, MD, FRCPC
University Health Network, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Project: Enhancing Regulatory T Cell Stability In The Presence Of Allograft Inflammation And Ischemia-reperfusion Injury
Chief of Staff: Prof. Freddie Hamdy
Director of Research: Prof. Kathryn Wood

joren madsen Recipient: Maria Lucia L. Madariga, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA, USA

Project: Amelioration Of The Deleterious Effects Of Donor Brain Death By Cytokine Blockade And Ex Vivo Allograft Perfusion In Fully Mismatched Miniature Swine
Chief of Staff: Joren C. Madsen, MD, DPhil (pictured, accepting award)
Director of Research: James S. Allan, MD

dan kreisel Recipient: Jessica H. Spahn, PhD
Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Project: Neutrophil Trafficking To The Lung During Pulmonary Ischemia-reperfusion Injury
Chief of Staff: G. Alexander Patterson, MD
Director of Research: Dan Kreisel, MD (pictured, accepting award)

jon kobashigawa Recipient: Konstantinos Malliaras, PhD
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Project: Percutaneous Catheter-guided Endomyocardial Delivery Of Allogeneic Cardiospheres For Heart Regeneration In A Porcine Model Of Chronic Ischemic Cardiomyopathy And Heart Failure
Chief of Staff: Scott R. Karlan, MD
Director of Research: Eduardo Marban, MD, PhD
Accepting award: Jon Kobashigawa (pictured)

2012 ISHLT Branislav Radovancevic Memorial Fellowship Grant Award

ISHLT issued one Branislav Radovancevic Memorial Fellowship Grant this year in the amount of $75,000, funded by a grant from Thoratec. The funding period is for one year.

Antigone Koliopoulou Recipient: Antigone Koliopoulou, MD
Evaggelismos Hospital, Athens, Greece

Project: Platelet Phenotyping with Mechanical Circulatory Support
Chief of Staff: Christos Charitos, MD
Director of Research: Craig Selzman, MD

2012 ISHLT Transplant Registry Early Career Grant Award

ISHLT issued two Transplant Registry Early Career Grants this year. Each award is in the amount of up to $5,000. The funding period is for one year.

dan dilling Recipient: Erin M. Lowery, MD
Loyola Univ Medical Center, Maywood, IL, USA

Project: Identifying Risk Factors For The Development Of PTLD In Patients With Cystic Fibrosis Following Lung Transplantation
Chief of Staff: Dr. Charles Alex
Director of Research: Dr. Robert Love
Accepting award: Daniel Dilling, MD (pictured)

omar wever-pinzon Recipient: Omar E. Wever-Pinzon, MD
University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Project: Impact Of Recipient Age On Differential Causes Of Heart Transplant Mortality. Is It Time To Personalize Post-Transplant Management?
Chief of Staff: Dean Li, MD, PhD
Director of Research: Josef Stehlik, MD, MPH

2012 ISHLT Nursing and Social Sciences Research Grant Award

ISHLT issued two Nursing and Social Sciences Research Grants this year in an amount of up to $12,000, one supported by funding from CSL Behring. The funding period is for one year.

lut berben Recipient: Lut Berben, PhD, RN
University of Basel, Institute of Nursing Science, Basel, Switzerland

Project: Chronic Illness Management Implementation In Heart Transplant Centers Study
Co-Investigators: Sabina De Geest, PhD, RN, Basel, Switzerland and Fabienne Dobbels, PhD, Leuven, Belgium

connie white-williams Recipient: Connie White-Williams, PhD, RN, FAAN
University of Alabama-Birmingham, Birmingham, AL, USA

Project: Returning To School: The Lived Experiences Of School Age Heart Transplant Recipients
Co-Investigators: Blair Couvillion, BS and Meloneysa Hubbard, RN, BSN

Congratulations to all of the 2012 Grant Award recipients!

The 2012 Grants & Awards Committee members are:

Duane Davis, Chair
John Dark, Co-Chair
Lori West, Reviewer
Sonya Schrepfer, Reviewer
Scott Palmer, Reviewer
David Wilkes, Reviewer
Marshall Hertz, Reviewer
Judy Currey, Reviewer

The Grants & Awards Committee would like to thank the following individuals for their participation as grant reviewers this year:

James Allan
Abbas Ardehali
Robert Aris
Christian Benden
Annette Boehler
Jason Christie
Judy Currey
John Dark
Marc De Perrot
Mario Deng
Tobias Deuse
Anne Dipchand
Fabienne Dobbels
Leah Edwards
Thomas Egan
Howard Eisen
Kimberly Gandy
James George
Bart Griffith
Chad Hare

Michelle Harkess
Matthew Hartwig
Marshall Hertz
Valluvan Jeevanandam
Maryl Johnson
Shaf Keshavjee
Richard Kirk
Daniel Kreisel
Shu Lin
Mingyao Liu
Jane MacIver
Joren Madsen
Charles Marboe
Mandeep Mehra
Carmelo Milano
Susan Moffatt-Bruce
Thalachallour Mohanakumar
Michael Mulligan
Catherine Murks
Francis Pagani

Scott Palmer
Jayan Parameshwar
Richard Pierson
Axel Rahmel
Vivek Rao
Hermann Reichenspurner
Bobby Robbins
Sonja Schrepfer
Ashish Shah
Randall Starling
Josef Stehlik
Celia Stevak
Susan Stewart
Martin Strueber
Stuart Sweet
David Vega
Tom Waddell
Florian Wagner
David Wilkes